NOVA SCOTIA

DEUTSCHLAND

Flag Counter

„Man reist nicht um   anzukommen, sondern um zu reisen."

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe


„Die Welt ist ein Buch. Wer nie reist, sieht nur eine Seite davon."

Augustinus Aurelius

 

"Egal wie weit der Weg ist, man muss den ersten Schritt tun."

Mao Tse-tung

 

"Ich glaubte es wäre ein Abenteuer, aber in Wirklichkeit war es das Leben."

Joseph Conrad

 

"Ein Abschied schmerzt immer, auch wenn man sich schon lange darauf freut."

Arthur Schnitzler

 

"Zu allem Großen ist der erste Schritt der Mut." 

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe 

 

Etwas Mut, ein erster Schritt- und das Unmögliche kann möglich werden.

 

 

Prom and End-of-the-Year Camp

Hello!

Well I'm back faster than I thought. On Saturday, June 8th, was the DRHS Prom 2013. My best friends and I had a sleepover Friday night. We stayed up until 3 in the morning and didn't get more than 6 hours of sleep, but the excitement and all the sugar we had made it possible to get up Saturday morning. After some pancakes we started to get ready. Showers, make up and hair followed and finally we all put our dresses and shoes on. We were so excited and couldn't wait so we started taking pictures in the house. Because we had a tropical storm that day (I mean who has a tropical storm on their prom day?) the power went out in town, which luckily didn't affect us, and it was just pouring. At 2:30 all the boys came over and at 3:30 we started our long day. First we went to the Mountain Gap and we had professional pictures taken, after that we went back to the house to re-do our hair, because the rain had had its impact on it and after that we went to the Pines, which is an expensive Golf Resort and Hotel in Digby. It's really pretty on the inside and when we came there lots of other girls and boys, especially the grads were there and it was unbelievable to see all the gorgeous dresses and the guys in their suits. The grads had the prettiest dresses of course, but we still felt like princesses. The one time it stopped raining we went outside and took a few pictures, but we felt like we had already taken about 500 pictures that day and it was a little after 6, so we decided to drive to the high school to get good spots for the grad march. Because of the rain it was in the theatre, but it was still set up really nice. The theme was "Under the Sea" and they had a nice arch and it said Prom 2013 above it and all the grads and their dates were called and walked under it. That was the grad march. In the hall they had a little fountain and the gym was set up beautifully, with lights, round tables, a photo booth, which was like a ship wrack, and of course lots of food. The food was really, really good they had cupcakes, fruit with a chocolate fountain, punch, cake etc. It was delicious! After the parents and everybody else left the party got started. It was a nice dance although lots of the grads and their dates left to go to the prom party. My best friend, our dates and me stayed there and enjoyed an almost empty dance floor. It was almost 11 until we left and we were so tired. It was a great dance and we had so much fun! Back at my best friends house we sat down and almost fell asleep so after checking facebook for a while we just fell in the bed and slept for 10 hours. It was a great weekend with unforgettable memories and great pictures and it just made me realize even more how lucky I am to have such good friends, and especially such an amazing best friend (She's in the picture with me)! I'm so happy to have her and the times with her are always awesome and I'll miss her so incredibly much! I never thought I would find such a good best friend here, but now I'm even happier! :D

 

On Thursday after lunch the Internationals went to Camp Peniel again. You might remember me talking about it in September when we had our Orientation days. It was the same camp, but this time we just came together for games and stuff like that. We played soccer, it was just awesome to play soccer with kids from all over the world, we had bbq for supper and after that we had time to talk and for a camp fire with smores. It was a great day and I was really happy to see the other kids from the Tri-County School Board again and it was just really fun. My coordinator chose me to do a testimonial for the NSISP, which is like a write up about my experiences. I will be on the new NSISP website and I will also post it here when I'm done. 

Also I will be on the Nova Scotia page in the new 2014/15 Stepin brochure, so make sure to order it on their website for free and see me in it ;) 

 

On Friday we got our DRHS 2012/13 yearbooks. They are so cool and my friends already started signing it. I also started having my friends sign a huge Canadian flag and I will bring it back to Germany and hang it up in my room. It looks pretty amazing.

This week will be the last week of regular classes, the week after will be exams and the week after that is my last week in Canada. We don't have school that week, only one day to get our report cards, and then I have one weekend and Canada day and I'll leave Digby. It's crazy and I have so many things and plans that I still want to do. Some of my exchange student friends leave even earlier so I'll have to start saying goodbyes in about two weeks. It's just incredible and I really don't want to do that. I mean I'm really looking forward to see my mom and go back to Germany, but I do not want to leave my second home! 

Anyway, I will write again soon, because there will be news for sure! The last month is full of stuff to do, but I probably won't always find time to tell you what I'm doing. I'm sorry for that, but I'm sure you understand.

See you soon,

Julia 

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0